In my post last week "What I learned from shopping" I wrote about my visit to Whole Foods and how an employee told me processed white sugar is not considered vegan:
"White refined sugar is not vegan because they add ground up
animal bones to the sugar to give it its white color. That’s why 'raw' or
'unrefined sugar' has a brown color."
After doing more research I found out that this is not 100% accurate. Not
all white sugar is non-vegan. According to VegSource.com, processed beet sugar is
typically vegan, because it doesn’t require decolorizing. White cane sugar,
however, is usually filtered through activated carbon (charcoal), which may be
of animal, vegetable, or mineral origin, depending on the refinery. The
animal-origin carbon is made from bone char, just like the Whole Foods employee
But, as VegSource.com states, “The bone char used in this filtering process
is so far removed from its animal source that the sugar processed in this method
is deemed kosher pareve, which, according to Jewish dietary laws, means that it
contains no meat or milk in any form as an ingredient.”
Still, a number of vegans disagree with this perspective.
The bottom line for me is processed sugar is not good for me. I have found
that it is almost addictive, and the minute I have a food or drink with
sugar or high fructose corn syrup in it, I can’t stop consuming it. But, over
the last 10 days I have cut out all refined sugar and I have lost my
cravings for it! That’s pretty astounding since I had a serious chocolate
Truthfully, I do like to sweeten my oatmeal in the morning, so I have
started using agave syrup. Made from the agave
plant which grows in the desert, agave has become the sweetener of choice
for diabetics as it has a low-glycemic index and is easy to digest. I find that
the flavor is gentle with the perfect amount of sweetness. In addition to
my morning oatmeal, I like to add it to my fruit smoothies, which I make with almond
milk and frozen berries.
Have a sweet day!